## Records of Indian Swimmers of ENGLISH CHANNEL 1875-2023 Compiled by Meenakshi Pahuja

No.	Name	State	Year	From - To	Time	
1	Mihir Sen	Bengal, India	1958	England - France	14 hrs 55 min	
2	Dr. Bimal Chandra	Bengal	1959	France - England	13 hrs 50 min	
3	Miss Aarti Shah	Bengal	1959	France - England	16 hrs 20 min	
4	Nitindra Narayan Ray Ben	C C	1961	France - England	19 hrs 00 min	
5	Avinash Sarang	Maharastra	1974	France - England	16 hrs 15 min	
6	Taranth shenoy	Maharastra	1983	France - England	10 hrs 54 min	
	(Winner of the Van Audena	aerde Award for I		Ū.		
7	Bijoy Jain	Maharastra, Ind	-	England - France	08 hrs 42 min	
	(Holder of John Unieumbe Wood Trophy)			0		
8	Taranath Shenoy	Maharastra	1984	England - France	10 hrs 55 min	
	(Winner of the Van Audenaerde Award for Handicap Swimmero Special Award )					
9	Taranath Shenoy	Maharastra, Indi	a 1985	England - France 10 hr	rs 42 min	
	(Holder of the Van Audenaerde Award Special Award)					
10	Shailesh Kialje	Maharastra	1986	England - France 10 hrs	s 04 min	
11	Miss Aarti Pradhan	Maharastra	1986	England - France 12 hrs	s 04 min	
(Holder of Greame Thompson Memorial Trophy)						
12	Miss Anita Sood	Maharastra	1987	England - France 08 hrs	s 15 min	
	(Holder of Soti Saki Trophy)					
13	Rajeev Gadgil	Maharastra	1987	England - France 10 hrs	s 51 min	
14	Rajesh Gadgil	Maharastra	1987	England - France 11 hrs	s 50 min	
15	Abhijeet Roa	Maharastra	1988	England - France 14 hrs	s 30 min	
16	Miss Nayana Malapu. Maharastra		1998	England - France 15 hrs	England - France 15 hrs 14 min	
17	Harsh Thakore	Maharastra	1988	England - France 15 hrs	s 02 min	
18	Rajaram Ghag	Maharastra	1988	England - France 12 hrs	s 40 min	
19	Akhil Ashok Desai	Maharastra	1989	England - France 15 hrs	s 07 min	
20	Abhijit Datey	Maharastra	1989	England - France 15 hrs	s 36 min	
21	Miss Bhula Choudhary Bihar		1989	England - France 10 hrs 46 min		
22	Hrishikesh Gandhi	Maharastra	1990	England - France 15 hrs	s 35 min	
23	Rihen Metha	Maharastra	1994	England - France 11 hrs	s 33 min	
24	V. Kutraleeshwaran	Madras	1994	England - France 11 hrs	s 36 min	
25	Miss Rupali Repale	Maharastra	1994	England - France 16 hrs	s 07 min	
26	Thane District AAA	Maharastra	1996	England - France 11 hrs	s 33 min	
	Jr. Relay team					

## 44th Edition, V.K. Pahuja Swimming Statistical Bulletin 2024

	Toom a) Kayari Thakur	a) Daahmi Sana	<b></b>	a) Daniel Duban			
	Team a) Kaveri Thakur	c) Rashmi Sans		e) Daniel Ruben			
	b) Rahul Modi	d) Gunjan Parulkar		f) Sidhesh Parab			
		Holder of The Lada Cross Channel Junior Relay Team Trophy) (Fastest)					
~-	Holder of The John Bullet Trophy (Youngest Relay Team)						
27	Masudar Baidya	Bengal	1997	England - France	16 hrs 23 min		
28	Ganesh Naha	India	1998	England - France	15 hrs 17 min		
29	Satish Kadam	Maharastra	1999	England - France	16 hrs 43 min		
30	Miss Bhula Chaudhari Bihar		1999	England - France	13 hrs 15 min		
31	Miss Kaveri Thakur Maharastra		2000	England - France	14 hrs 06 min		
	(Holder of The Graeme Th	iomson's Memori	al Trophy	for the Youngest Swimme	er of year 2000)		
32	Tejashree Divgi	Maharastra	2001	England - France	15 hrs 18 min		
33	Barkha Kedia	Maharastra	2001	England - France	17 hrs 12 min		
34	Nagaraja Madhusudhan		2004-		12:31:00		
35	Sufyan Shaikh	Gurjrat	2006		12hr.00min		
36	Bhakti Sharma	Rajasthan	2006	-	13 hrs 55 min		
37	Rashmi Sharma	Bengal	2006	-	11 hrs 47 min		
38	Piyush Sharma	Rajasthan	2006	-	15 hrs 04 min		
39	Ritu Kedia	Maharastra	2007	-	15 hrs 50 min		
40	Rashmi Sharma	Bengal	2007	-	13 hrs 06 min		
41	Air India Team		2007		12 hrs 17 min		
42	Rajesh Gajanan Shinde India		2008		14hrs 46mins		
43	The Pride of Rajasthan (3	persons Relay)	2008		16 hrm 19 min		
44	Rashmi Sharma	Bengal	2009	-	13 hrs 50 min		
	(She was awarded the "Rose Mary Goerge Trophy" for the "Most Meritorious Swim of the Year 2007")						
45	Aditya Raut	India	2009		14hrs 55mins		
46	Amrita Das	India	2010	England - France	13 hrs 42 min		
47	Amol Adhar	India	2011	"	10 hrs 56 min		
48	Indian Air Force Delphinus	s (4 person Relay	) 2012	"	12 hrs 14 min		
49	Indian Air Force Delphinus	s (4 person Relay	) 2012	"	11 hrs 25 min		
50	Rohan More	Maharashtra, In	dia	13hrs 23mins			
51	Shubham Dhananjay Vanmali Maharashtra 2014			"	12 hrs 42 min		
52	Prabhat Kohli	India	2015	u	13 hrs 14 min		
53	Tahrina Nasrin	India	2015	"	12 hrs 38 min		
54	Swim Life Sea Guls	India	2015	ш	14 hrs 07 min		
55	The Sea Hawks	India	2016	England to France	15 hrs 17 min		

## 44th Edition, V.K. Pahuja Swimming Statistical Bulletin 2024

56	Sameer Dinkar Patil	India	2017	England to France	15 hrs 19 min	
57	Sayani Das	India	2017	England to France	14 hrs 08 min	
58	Vandita Dhariyal	Gujrat, India	2017	England to France	13h10m10s	
59 Leah Chowdhry (dual national, India& UK)			2018	England to France	14hrs44mins	
60	Srikaanth Viswanathan	India	2018	England to France	14 hrs 07 min	
61	Indian Para Relay Team In	dia	2018	England to France	12 hrs 26 min	
	(Chetan G Raut, Jagdish Chandratele, Rimo Saha & Satendra Singh)					
62.	Swim Life Sea Lions	India	2018	England to France	12 hrs 49 min	
(Srikaanth Viswanathan & Ravi Sandesh G. R)						
63.	Swim Life Albatross	India	2018	England to France 14 h	rs 52 min	
	(Aruna Venugopal Embar, Gopal Rao Byroji Rao,Mohan Rao Lingasugur, Prakash Gajanana Hegde Shreyas M Sati, Siddhartha Agarwal, Sudheer Gasi Bhupal &Vani Embar)					
64.	Akepati Bhaskar Reddy – I	<sup>⊃</sup> unjab, India	2019	England to france	14hrs02mins	
65.	Gauri Singhvi –	Rajasthan, India	2019	England to france	13hrs28mins	
66.	HOPE (Relay team, Suda Catherine Stefanutti (4 me	,	Baliwala, 2019	Moiz S Rajkotwala, England to france	14hrs 59mins	
67.	Sagar Kamble		2022	England to france	14hrs 27mins	
68.	SwimLife Orcas (Relay Team) Sumanth Naropanth, Varuna Mayya, Sindhu Naropanth, Meghana Mayya		2023	England to france	14hrs 29mins	
69.	. SwimLife Albatross (Relay Team) Prakash Hegde, Satish Kumar M, Chandrashekar N S, Bharath S A, Muralidhar Kathalagiri, Charan Bhoopalam 2023 England to france 17hrs 35mins					
70.	Solo - Aruna Venugopal		2023	England to france	16hrs 06 mins	

## **Brave Efforts**

**Meenakshi Pahuja** from Delhi made her second attempt to swim the great English Channel on 8th August 2014 from England to France. She swam 25 miles in 14 hours 19 mins, she was 2 miles away from the French Coast, due to the change of tide, she was forcibly picked up by the crew on safety grounds under the instructions of English Channel observers. The observer was very impressed by her effort, and encouraged her by releasing her video recording.

44th Edition, V.K. Pahuja Swimming Statistical Bulletin 2024